Pretty in Pink

My sister-in-law, Carol, asked me to make a Napkinection for her mother-in-law, Angie.  I have known and loved Angie for years.  I was honored to make a Napkinection for her.  Carol emailed that Angie loves pink and flowers.

Pink beads had been purchased the week before I got Carol’s email.  I rolled Mom around in JoAnn Fabric and Craft Store looking for the perfect fabric for Angie.   Mom pointed to various fabrics for me to check out.  She nodded yes to two designs of 100% cotton fabric that were pink with flowers.  Balancing the bolts of fabric on the handles of the wheelchair, we proceeded to the cutting station and requested 1 1/3 yards of each fabric.  I sent pictures of the fabric to Carol for her to choose the one she thought Angie would like. She choose the pink with white flowers.

I made three napkins that were 23 inches long to go with the Napkinection that was made of pink beads, pearls and pink crystals.  Jim, Carol’s husband, delivered the set to his mom in Florida.  Carol sent this message:  “Just wanted to tell you Jim’s mom loves her Napkinection.”  In her next email, she sent a picture of Angie smiling, wearing the pink napkin attached to the Napkinection.  She looked happy and dignified.  No demeaning bib.  Tears unexpectedly spilled when I saw her picture.  Her joy touched me and made me joyful.  I am grateful for that moment for both of us.

Making the Napkinection seems like such a small thing.  Most of the time, I think I am nuts for continuing to do it.  But something deep inside me drives me forward even if it is a slow go.  In Issue 53 of Heron Dance, Roderick MacIver quotes Frederic Back who did a film, The Man Who Planted Trees, about what he thought was the most important message of the story.

“Many, many people understand that the most important thing in this story is doing something that you know is good, and you don’t look for any kind of big result.  The reward is in the doing.  You do what you feel you have to do.

If you make money, that is fine.  But you don’t have a reward.  If people are blind around you, don’t see what you are doing, that is okay.  The objective is not to be rewarded.  It is to be doing something that you feel is important.  Your reward is in feeling good.  Your life has had a value.”

2 thoughts on “Pretty in Pink

  1. Faye,

    I so enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for the shout-out for Pam and me. We both love blogging. She has become an expert on saving money at the grocery stores and pharmacists. She’s so busy with the start of school that she doesn’t have as much time to devote to her blog. Can you imagine 5 to 6 hundred ninth graders? Do NOT envy her job!

    Your Mom always looks so happy. You are blessed to still have her with you. I lost my Mom when I was 21. I still miss her sweet smile and humble nature. She was a wonderful Mother to the seven of us.

    Love the fabric you found. I need to stay out of JoAnn’s, (and a lot of other places) for that matter. 🙂

    Have a great week!
    Kathy

    • Kathy,

      It must have been very hard to lose your mom when you were so young. I do feel blessed and awed by the whole experience of caregiving. There are moments of wanting to run away, but I am grateful for the moments of enduring love and connection.

      I can’t imagine handling all of those ninth graders! I have a hard time with 2 preschoolers.

      Thanks for your comment. Glad you liked the fabric. JoAnn’s can take you into crafting oblivion! I only go with a coupon:)

      Faye

Leave a Reply

